CONTAINS "non steroidal" or "NSAID" or "mefenamic acid" or "naproxen" or "ibuprofen" or "Flurbiprofen" or "Meclofenamic Acid" or "Meclofenamate" or "diclofenac" or "indomethacin" or "indometacin" or "Ketoprofen" or "Piroxicam" or "Flufenamic Acid" or "nimesulide" or "COX‐2 inhibitors" or "valdecoxib" or "etoricoxib" or "lumiracoxib" or "rofecoxib" or "parecoxib sodium" or "cyclooxygenase" or "Aspirin" or "acetly salicylic acid" or "nonsteroidal" or "cyclooxygenase" or "anti‐inflammatory effect" or "NSAIDs" or Title CONTAINS "non steroidal" or "NSAID" or "mefenamic acid" or "naproxen" or "ibuprofen" or "Flurbiprofen" or "Meclofenamic Acid" or "Meclofenamate" or "diclofenac" or "indomethacin" or "indometacin" or "Ketoprofen" or "Piroxicam" or "Flufenamic Acid" or "nimesulide" or "COX‐2 inhibitors" or "valdecoxib" or "etoricoxib" or "lumiracoxib" or "rofecoxib" or "parecoxib sodium" or "cyclooxygenase" or "Aspirin" or "nonsteroidal" or "cyclooxygenase" or "anti‐inflammatory effect" or "NSAIDs" (120 hits)
Appendix 2. CENTRAL search strategy
Via Cochrane Central Register of Studies Online (CRSO)
Searched 20 February 2019
Web platform
#1 MESH DESCRIPTOR Embryo Transfer EXPLODE ALL TREES 1029
#2 MESH DESCRIPTOR Fertilization in Vitro EXPLODE ALL TREES 1959
#3 MESH DESCRIPTOR Sperm Injections, Intracytoplasmic EXPLODE ALL TREES 510
#4 (embryo* adj2 transfer*):TI,AB,KY 2894
#5 (vitro fertili?ation):TI,AB,KY 2568
#6 ivf:TI,AB,KY 3838
#7 icsi:TI,AB,KY 1714
#8 (intracytoplasmic sperm injection*):TI,AB,KY 1500
#9 (blastocyst* adj2 transfer*):TI,AB,KY 247
#10 MESH DESCRIPTOR Reproductive Techniques, Assisted EXPLODE ALL TREES 2996
#11 (assisted reproduct*):TI,AB,KY 915
#12 (artificial insemination):TI,AB,KY 184
#13 MESH DESCRIPTOR Insemination, Artificial EXPLODE ALL TREES 355
#14 IUI:TI,AB,KY 555
#15 (intrauterine insemination*):TI,AB,KY 790
#16 (ovulation induc*):TI,AB,KY 2133
#17 (ovar* adj2 stimulat*):TI,AB,KY 1497
#18 superovulat*:TI,AB,KY 183
#19 (ovarian hyperstimulation):TI,AB,KY 1008
#20 COH:TI,AB,KY 276
#21 infertil*:TI,AB,KY 5739
#22 subfertil*:TI,AB,KY 576
#23 (ovar* adj2 induction):TI,AB,KY 189
#24 #1 OR #2 OR #3 OR #4 OR #5 OR #6 OR #7 OR #8 OR #9 OR #10 OR #11 OR #12 OR #13 OR #14 OR #15 OR #16 OR #17 OR #18 OR #19 OR #20 OR #21 OR #22 OR #23 10977
#25 MESH DESCRIPTOR Anti‐Inflammatory Agents, Non‐Steroidal EXPLODE ALL TREES 18653
#26 MESH DESCRIPTOR diclofenac EXPLODE ALL TREES 1768
#27 MESH DESCRIPTOR Ibuprofen EXPLODE ALL TREES 1700
#28 MESH DESCRIPTOR Mefenamic Acid EXPLODE ALL TREES 121
#29 MESH DESCRIPTOR Naproxen EXPLODE ALL TREES 1060
#30 MESH DESCRIPTOR Piroxicam EXPLODE ALL TREES 626
#31 MESH DESCRIPTOR Cyclooxygenase Inhibitors EXPLODE ALL TREES 14524
#32 MESH DESCRIPTOR Cyclooxygenase 2 Inhibitors EXPLODE ALL TREES 1291
#33 nsaid*:TI,AB,KY 3474
#34 (cyclooxygenase inhibitor*):TI,AB,KY 1099
#35 (non‐steroidal anti‐inflammator*):TI,AB,KY 1869
#36 cox‐2:TI,AB,KY 1015
#37 (etoricoxib* or lumiracoxib* or parecoxib*):TI,AB,KY 710
#38 (rofecoxib* or valdecoxib*):TI,AB,KY 551
#39 sulphonanilide*:TI,AB,KY 0
#40 (diclofenac or voltaren):TI,AB,KY 3813
#41 ibuprofen:TI,AB,KY 3408
#42 (mefenamic acid or naproxen):TI,AB,KY 2169
#43 piroxicam:TI,AB,KY 1089
#44 indomet?acin 2798
#45 indomethacin:TI,AB,KY 2582
#46 indometacin:TI,AB,KY 651
#47 #25 OR #26 OR #27 OR #28 OR #29 OR #31 OR #32 OR #33 OR #34 OR #35 OR #36 OR #37 OR #38 OR #39 OR #40 OR #41 OR #42 OR #43 OR #44 OR #45 OR #46 26563
#48 #24 AND #47 112
Appendix 3. MEDLINE search strategy
Searched from 1946 to 20 February 2019
Ovid platform
1 exp insemination, artificial/ or exp reproductive techniques, assisted/ (65428) 2 assisted reproduct$.tw. (13455) 3 iui.tw. (1625) 4 (artificial adj5 insemination).tw. (6270) 5 exp fertilization in vitro/ or exp sperm injections, intracytoplasmic/ or exp gamete intrafallopian transfer/ or exp zygote intrafallopian transfer/ (34282) 6 (ivf or icsi).tw. (25447) 7 in vitro fertili$.tw. (22266) 8 intracytoplasmic sperm injection$.tw. (6664) 9 ART.tw. (87483) 10 intra uterine insemination$.tw. (210) 11 intrauterine insemination$.tw. (2341) 12 exp Embryo Transfer/ (15262) 13 (embryo$ adj5 transfer$).tw. (17787) 14 or/1‐13 (167529) 15 exp anti‐inflammatory agents, non‐steroidal/ (196084) 16 exp diclofenac/ or exp ibuprofen/ or exp mefenamic acid/ or exp naproxen/ or exp piroxicam/ or exp cyclooxygenase inhibitors/ or exp cyclooxygenase 2 inhibitors/ (124304) 17 non‐steroidal anti‐inflammator$.tw. (14804) 18 nsaid$.tw. (23170) 19 cyclooxygenase inhibitor$.tw. (4689) 20 cox‐2.tw. (28657) 21 (etoricoxib$ or lumiracoxib$ or parecoxib$).tw. (1287) 22 (rofecoxib$ or valdecoxib$).tw. (2367) 23 sulphonanilide$.tw. (5) 24 (diclofenac or voltaren).tw. (10874) 25 ibuprofen.tw. (12313) 26 (mefenamic acid or naproxen).tw. (6852) 27 piroxicam.tw. (2906) 28 or/15‐27 (232643) 29 randomized controlled trial.pt. (476303) 30 controlled clinical trial.pt. (92914) 31 randomized.ab. (434520) 32 placebo.tw. (200681) 33 clinical trials as topic.sh. (186040) 34 randomly.ab. (305364) 35 trial.ti. (194121) 36 (crossover or cross‐over or cross over).tw. (79187) 37 or/29‐36 (1226241) 38 (animals not (humans and animals)).sh. (4515460) 39 37 not 38 (1126639) 40 14 and 28 and 39 (102)
Appendix 4. Embase search strategy
Searched from 1980 to 20 February 2019
Ovid platform
1 exp insemination, artificial/ or exp reproductive techniques, assisted/ (95530) 2 assisted reproduct$.tw. (21554) 3 iui.tw. (3171) 4 (artificial adj5 insemination).tw. (5739) 5 exp fertilization in vitro/ or exp sperm injections, intracytoplasmic/ or exp gamete intrafallopian transfer/ or exp zygote intrafallopian transfer/ (67553) 6 (ivf or icsi).tw. (46602) 7 in vitro fertili$.tw. (30079) 8 intracytoplasmic sperm injection$.tw. (9517) 9 ART.tw. (107832) 10 intra uterine insemination$.tw. (418) 11 intrauterine insemination$.tw. (3697) 12 exp Embryo Transfer/ (30406) 13 (embryo$ adj5 transfer$).tw. (28687) 14 or/1‐13 (223906) 15 non‐steroidal anti‐inflammator$.tw. (20051) 16 nsaid$.tw. (39766) 17 cyclooxygenase inhibitor$.tw. (5138) 18 cox‐2.tw. (37935) 19 (etoricoxib$ or lumiracoxib$ or parecoxib$).tw. (2047) 20 (rofecoxib$ or valdecoxib$).tw. (3102) 21 sulphonanilide$.tw. (6) 22 (diclofenac or voltaren).tw. (17611) 23 ibuprofen.tw. (17054) 24 (mefenamic acid or naproxen).tw. (8997) 25 piroxicam.tw. (4102) 26 antiinflammatory agent/ or exp nonsteroid antiinflammatory agent/ (698871) 27 exp celecoxib/ or exp diclofenac/ or exp etoricoxib/ or exp ibuprofen/ or exp lumiracoxib/ or exp mefenamic acid/ or exp naproxen/ or exp parecoxib/ or exp piroxicam/ or exp rofecoxib/ or exp valdecoxib/ (111136) 28 nonsteroidal antiinflammator$.tw. (5300) 29 exp prostaglandin synthase inhibitor/ or cyclooxygenase 1 inhibitor/ or exp cyclooxygenase 2 inhibitor/ (480461) 30 or/15‐29 (751866) 31 30 and 14 (4244) 32 Clinical Trial/ (944481) 33 Randomized Controlled Trial/ (532332) 34 exp randomization/ (81275) 35 Single Blind Procedure/ (33910) 36 Double Blind Procedure/ (155141) 37 Crossover Procedure/ (58138) 38 Placebo/ (316628) 39 Randomi?ed controlled trial$.tw. (196797) 40 Rct.tw. (31286) 41 random allocation.tw. (1859) 42 randomly allocated.tw. (31650) 43 allocated randomly.tw. (2397) 44 (allocated adj2 random).tw. (799) 45 Single blind$.tw. (22086) 46 Double blind$.tw. (188006) 47 ((treble or triple) adj blind$).tw. (898) 48 placebo$.tw. (279124) 49 prospective study/ (500624) 50 or/32‐49 (1980595) 51 case study/ (59038) 52 case report.tw. (362915) 53 abstract report/ or letter/ (1048196) 54 or/51‐53 (1460847) 55 50 not 54 (1930559) 56 31 and 55 (952)
Appendix 5. PsycINFO search strategy
Searched from 1806 to 20 February 2019
Ovid platform
1 exp reproductive technology/ (1725) 2 assisted reproduct$.tw. (885) 3 iui.tw. (35) 4 (artificial adj5 insemination).tw. (258) 5 (ivf or icsi).tw. (567) 6 in vitro fertili$.tw. (714) 7 intracytoplasmic sperm injection$.tw. (54) 8 ART.tw. (42540) 9 intra uterine insemination$.tw. (2) 10 intrauterine insemination$.tw. (26) 11 (embryo$ adj5 transfer$).tw. (170) 12 or/1‐11 (44793) 13 exp anti inflammatory drugs/ or exp aspirin/ (5516) 14 non‐steroidal anti‐inflammator$.tw. (521) 15 nsaid$.tw. (901) 16 cyclooxygenase inhibitor$.tw. (105) 17 cox‐2.tw. (832) 18 (etoricoxib$ or lumiracoxib$ or parecoxib$).tw. (50) 19 (rofecoxib$ or valdecoxib$).tw. (111) 20 sulphonanilide$.tw. (0) 21 (diclofenac or voltaren).tw. (225) 22 ibuprofen.tw. (456) 23 (mefenamic acid or naproxen).tw. (185) 24 piroxicam.tw. (45) 25 or/13‐24 (7411) 26 12 and 25 (15)
Appendix 6. CINAHL search strategy
Searched from 1961 to 20 February 2019
Ebsco platform
| # | Query | Results |
| S52 | S39 AND S51 | 17 |
| S51 | S40 OR S41 OR S42 OR S43 OR S44 OR S45 OR S46 OR S47 OR S48 OR S49 OR S50 | 1,305,398 |
| S50 | TX allocat* random* | 9,845 |
| S49 | (MH "Quantitative Studies") | 21,856 |
| S48 | (MH "Placebos") | 11,138 |
| S47 | TX placebo* | 55,343 |
| S46 | TX random* allocat* | 9,845 |
| S45 | (MH "Random Assignment") | 53,424 |
| S44 | TX randomi* control* trial* | 163,491 |
| S43 | TX ( (singl* n1 blind*) or (singl* n1 mask*) ) or TX ( (doubl* n1 blind*) or (doubl* n1 mask*) ) or TX ( (tripl* n1 blind*) or (tripl* n1 mask*) ) or TX ( (trebl* n1 blind*) or (trebl* n1 mask*) ) | 1,004,486 |
| S42 | TX clinic* n1 trial* | 238,780 |
| S41 | PT Clinical trial | 86,749 |
| S40 | (MH "Clinical Trials+") | 254,291 |
| S39 | S23 AND S38 | 42 |
| S38 | S24 OR S25 OR S26 OR S27 OR S28 OR S29 OR S30 OR S31 OR S32 OR S33 OR S34 OR S35 OR S36 OR S37 | 22,238 |
| S37 | TX piroxicam | 248 |
| S36 | TX (mefenamic acid or naproxen) | 1,034 |
| S35 | TX ibuprofen | 2,681 |
| S34 | TX (diclofenac or voltaren) | 1,676 |
| S33 | TX (rofecoxib* or valdecoxib*) | 563 |
| S32 | TX (etoricoxib* or lumiracoxib* or parecoxib*) | 378 |
| S31 | TX Cox 2 | 994 |
| S30 | TX cyclooxygenase inhibitor* | 485 |
| S29 | (MM "Cox‐2 Inhibitors") | 1,993 |
| S28 | TX nsaid* | 4,967 |
| S27 | TX nonsteroidal antiinflammator* | 884 |
| S26 | TX nonsteroidal anti‐inflammator* | 3,253 |
| S25 | TX non‐steroidal anti‐inflammator* | 1,861 |
| S24 | (MM "Antiinflammatory Agents, Non‐Steroidal+") | 14,164 |
| S23 | S1 OR S2 OR S3 OR S4 OR S5 OR S6 OR S7 OR S8 OR S9 OR S10 OR S11 OR S12 OR S13 OR S14 OR S15 OR S16 OR S17 OR S18 OR S19 OR S20 OR S21 OR S22 | 14,827 |
| S22 | TX intra‐uterine insemination | 27 |
| S21 | TX natural cycle* | 337 |
| S20 | TX timed intercourse | 36 |
| S19 | TX (ovari* N2 induction) | 31 |
| S18 | TX COH | 217 |
| S17 | TX ovarian hyperstimulation | 773 |
| S16 | TX superovulat* | 77 |
| S15 | TX ovulation induc* | 1,604 |
| S14 | TX intrauterine insemination | 438 |
| S13 | TX IUI | 314 |
| S12 | TX artificial insemination | 742 |
| S11 | TX assisted reproduct* | 3,460 |
| S10 | (MM "Insemination, Artificial") | 411 |
| S9 | (MM "Reproduction Techniques+") | 8,246 |
| S8 | TX intracytoplasmic sperm injection* | 802 |
| S7 | TX embryo* N3 transfer* | 2,782 |
| S6 | TX ovar* N3 hyperstimulat* | 778 |
| S5 | TX ovari* N3 stimulat* | 895 |
| S4 | TX IVF or TX ICSI | 4,535 |
| S3 | (MM "Fertilization in Vitro") | 3,166 |
| S2 | TX vitro fertilization | 6,418 |
| S1 | TX vitro fertilisation | 6,418 |
Appendix 7. Trials registry search terms
Searched 20 February 2019
Web platform
"NSAIDs" AND "IVF", and "anti‐inflammatory agents, non‐steroidal" AND "IVF"
Appendix 8. Grey literature search terms
Searched 20 February 2019
Web platform
"NSAIDs" AND "IVF" OR "ART", and "anti‐inflammatory agents, non‐steroidal" AND "IVF" OR "ART"
Appendix 9. Study eligibility
| Date | |
| Extractor | |
| Trial authors | |
| Publication year | |
| Journal | |
| 1) Design | |
| Described as randomised? If no then exclude . If yes go to questions 2 |
Yes No Unclear |
| 2) Participants | |
| (a) Are participants subfertile women (subfertile for any cause) who were undergoing any form of assisted reproductive therapy (ART) which will included IVF, intracytoplasmic sperm injection, ovulation induction and intrauterine insemination? | Yes No Unclear |
| (b) Are participants on NSAIDs? | Yes No Unclear |
| If 'no', exclude. Otherwise go to question (3). | |
| 3) Interventions | |
| NSAIDs versus placebo/no treatment? Two NSAIDS versus each other? |
Yes No Unclear |
| NSAIDS versus aspirin? | Yes No Unclear |
| If 'no' to (a) or (b), exclude. | |
| Final decision | |
| Include (if all 'yes') Exclude (if any 'no') Unclear |
|
| Excluded or unclear because: | |
| If 'unclear', action taken: |
Appendix 10. Data extraction form
| Date: | ||
| Extractor (initials): | ||
| Trial authors: | ||
| Year of publication: | ||
| Journal: | ||
| Study setting: | ||
| (1) Participants | ||
| Inclusion criteria: | Exclusion criteria: | |
| Median or mean age: | Ethnicity | |
| Age range: | Gravidity | |
| Were all treatment groups comparable at baseline: | Yes No Unclear |
|
| If no or unclear, describe any differences: | ||
| Notes: | ||
| 2) Interventions | Tx 1 | Tx2 |
| Tx used | ||
| Formulation used | ||
| Route | ||
| Dose | ||
| Duration | ||
| Timing and frequency | ||
| Notes | ||
| (3) Outcomes | ||
Primary outcomesLive birth Ongoing pregnancy (number of pregnancies which continued beyond 12 weeks
|
||
Secondary outcomesRelief of pain (using validated pain scale (VPS) or subjective report) Multiple Pregnancy rate per woman Miscarriage Adverse events (ART related and drug related) Quality of life (considering both the mother and the newborn) Biochemical pregnancy/cycle Clinical pregnancy/cycle Implantation rate/embryo transfer Ectopic pregnancy/clinical pregnancy
|
||
| Further information: | ||
| Trialists contacted for more information: | yes | no |
| Address | ||
| Ph | ||
| Data | ||
| Comments |
Data and analyses
Comparison 1. NSAID versus placebo/no treatment.
| Outcome or subgroup title | No. of studies | No. of participants | Statistical method | Effect size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Ongoing pregnancy | 4 | 1159 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.06 [0.71, 1.59] |
| 1.1 Piroxicam versus Placebo/no treatment | 3 | 508 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.30 [0.70, 2.39] |
| 1.2 Indomethacin versus placebo/no treatment | 2 | 651 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 0.77 [0.48, 1.25] |
| 2 Miscarriage | 4 | 525 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 0.62 [0.33, 1.16] |
| 2.1 Piroxicam versus Placebo/no treatment | 3 | 232 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 0.53 [0.15, 1.91] |
| 2.2 Flurbiprofen Axetil vs Placebo/ No treatment | 1 | 127 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 0.99 [0.36, 2.71] |
| 2.3 Ibuprofen vs Placebo/ no treatment | 1 | 166 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 0.46 [0.24, 0.87] |
| 3 Clinical pregnancy | 7 | 1570 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.23 [1.00, 1.52] |
| 3.1 Diclofenac vs placebo/no treatment | 1 | 381 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.20 [0.92, 1.58] |
| 3.2 Piroxicam vs placebo/no treatment | 4 | 696 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.36 [0.89, 2.08] |
| 3.3 Indomethacin vs placebo/no treatment | 1 | 127 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 0.95 [0.56, 1.62] |
| 3.4 Flurbiprofen Axetil vs Placebo/ No treatment | 1 | 200 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.0 [0.73, 1.37] |
| 3.5 Ibuprofen vs Placebo/ no treatment | 1 | 166 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.71 [1.02, 2.86] |
| 4 Adverse effects | 5 | 670 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.20 [0.21, 6.95] |
| 4.1 Ectopic pregnancy | 1 | 72 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 0.56 [0.05, 5.89] |
| 4.2 Multiple pregnancy | 1 | 180 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 2.0 [0.18, 21.67] |
| 4.3 Side effects | 3 | 418 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.39 [0.02, 119.35] |
Comparison 2. One NSAID vs another NSAID.
| Outcome or subgroup title | No. of studies | No. of participants | Statistical method | Effect size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Ongoing pregnancy | 1 | 170 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.12 [0.63, 2.00] |
| 1.1 Piroxicam vs Indomethacin | 1 | 170 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.12 [0.63, 2.00] |
| 2 Miscarriage | 1 | 170 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.0 [0.44, 2.28] |
| 2.1 Piroxicam vs Indomethacin | 1 | 170 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.0 [0.44, 2.28] |
| 3 Clinical pregnancy | 1 | 170 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.07 [0.71, 1.63] |
| 3.1 Piroxicam vs Indomethacin | 1 | 170 | Risk Ratio (M‐H, Random, 95% CI) | 1.07 [0.71, 1.63] |
Characteristics of studies
Characteristics of included studies [ordered by study ID]
Asgharnia 2007.
| Methods | Study type: randomised study Country: Iran Setting: women attending IVF/ICSI clinic Duration of recruitment: not stated Duration of trial: not stated Follow‐up: clinical pregnancy at least 4 weeks after embryo transfer |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: all of the couples with male factor, tubal factor, ovulatory factor and unexplained Exclusion: all women with uterine problems like myoma, Asherman syndrome #Randomised: n = 500 Baseline characteristics: not stated, but authors stated that there were no differences among groups |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: the treatment group (250 cycles) received an oral dose of 10 mg of piroxicam, and the control group (250 cycles) received a placebo, 1 to 2 hours before fresh ET Co‐intervention: long protocol |
|
| Outcomes | Primary outcomes: pregnancy rate Secondary outcomes: mean number of oocyte retrieval (metaphase II), 2 pn, embryo cleaved, embryo transferred |
|
| Notes | Ethics: an informed consent form was obtained from each participant Funding: supported by Azad Islamic university Rasht; Mehr Infertility Institute Sample size: not provided No adverse effects reported due to treatment Protocol of the study not provided, the study was published as an abstract in a conference meeting |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | High risk | Data not provided in the abstract |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | High risk | Data not provided in the abstract |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | High risk | Data not provided in the abstract |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | High risk | Data not provided in the abstract |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | High risk | Data not provided in the abstract |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | High risk | Data not provided in the abstract |
| Other bias | High risk | Data not provided in the abstract |
Dal Prato 2009.
| Methods | Study type: randomised study Country: Italy Setting: women attending IVF/ICSI clinic Duration of recruitment: June 2005 to June 2007 Duration of trial: 2 years Follow‐up: clinical pregnancy at least 4 weeks after embryo transfer |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: age < 44 years; regular ovulatory menstrual cycles of 25 to 33 days; infertility due to tubal, idopathic or male factors, or endometriosis, no more than 2 previous embryo transfers Exclusion: FSH concentration > 15 IU/l on day 3 of the menstrual cycle; those who previously showed poor response to gonadotrophins #Randomised: n = 200 Baseline characteristics: all women; age 28 to 43 years; causes of infertility included factors such as tubal (26.1% vs. 44%), male (36.1% vs. 42.1%), endometriosis (31.3% vs. 28.6%) or unexplained (45.5% vs. 35%), respectively for piroxicam vs control. |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: treatment group (n = 100) received single oral dose of 10 mg piroxicam 1 to 2 hours before embryo transfer vs. control (no treatment; n = 100) Co‐intervention: long luteal protocol |
|
| Outcomes | Primary outcomes: clinical pregnancy rate Secondary outcomes: the number of participants with a positive b‐HCG test, miscarriages, implantation rate |
|
| Notes | Ethics: informed consent; approved by Institutional Review Board Funding: not stated Sample size provided No adverse effects reported due to treatment; ectopic pregnancies were reported Protocol of the study not provided |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Low risk | The randomisation list was provided by an external statistician |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | Low risk | Sequentially numbered, sealed, dark envelopes (opened by a nurse not involved in the trial) |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | High risk | No blinding performed ("because it was not possible to provide a placebo", as authors stated) |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | Unclear risk | Not stated |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | Low risk | No participant was excluded from the final analysis. Primary outcomes of the review were addressed |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Unclear risk | All data were reported and discussed according to the initially stated objectives of the study authors. No protocol provided |
| Other bias | Low risk | No apparent evidence of other bias |
Fekih 2013.
| Methods | Study type: randomised study ("Prospective, randomized, double‐blinded placebo‐controlled
clinical study") Country: Tunisia Setting: 166 women attending an IVF/ICSI clinic in a university hospital Duration of recruitment: September 2010 to January 2011 Duration of trial: 5 months Follow‐up: up to 12 weeks of gestation |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: women undergoing IVF because of tubal, male infertility, unexplained, or endometriosis factors Exclusion: not stated Baseline characteristics: not stated |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: 83 women included in fresh ET cycles received an oral dose of 200 mg of ibuprofen (10 drops); while in the control group, the same number cycles corresponding to the treatment group were treated with placebo. Both groups started ibuprofen or placebo treatment 90 minutes before embryo transfer Co‐intervention: IVF protocol not stated |
|
| Outcomes | Outcomes reported: pregnancy and implantation rates Secondary outcomes: abortion rates |
|
| Notes | Ethics: not stated Funding: not stated Protocol: not stated The study was performed in Farhat Hached University Hospital, Sousse, Tunisia The article was published as an abstract in a conference (ASRM ‐ Fertility and Sterility Vol. 100, No. 3, Supplement, September 2013) |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Unclear risk | Authors state that "They were randomly divided into treatment and control group" in their abstract, but no further details were provided |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | High risk | Not stated, not able to get more information |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | Unclear risk | Authors state that "Patients and staff were blinded to the treatment" in their abstract |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not stated, not able to get more information |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not stated; the primary outcomes of the review were not addressed/measured |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | High risk | Not stated; not able to get more information |
| Other bias | Unclear risk | There is no further information |
Firouzabadi 2007.
| Methods | Study type: prospective randomised clinical trial Country: Iran Setting: women attending IVF/ICSI clinic Duration of recruitment: February to October 2006 Duration of trial: 10 months Follow‐up: up to 20 weeks of pregnancy |
|
| Participants | Inclusion and exclusion not mentioned #Randomised: n = 180 Baseline characteristics: all women who underwent fresh IVF; mean age (years): control 29.79 ± 5.1, piroxicam 30.28 ± 4.3; duration of infertility (years): control 7.8 ± 4.4, piroxicam 8.4 ± 4.3 |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: treatment group (n = 90) received single oral dose of 10mg piroxicam 1 to 2 hours before embryo transfer vs. control (placebo; n = 90) Co‐intervention: 21‐long agonist protocol |
|
| Outcomes | Pirmary outcomes: clinical pregnancy rate (fetal heart at 8 weeks) Secondary outcomes: implantation rates, multiple pregnancy, biochemical pregnancy, miscarriage rates |
|
| Notes | Ethics: written informed consent; approved by Institutional Review Board Funding: not stated Protocol: not stated |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Low risk | Randomisation was done using a computer‐generated random table |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | High risk | Not described |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | Low risk | Participants and staff were blinded to the treatment, authors stated |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not described |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | Low risk | No participant was lost and all data were reported. Primary outcomes of the review were addressed |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Unclear risk | No protocol provided |
| Other bias | Low risk | No evidence of any other source of bias |
Kailasam 2008.
| Methods | Study type: randomised prospective double‐blind study Country: UK Setting: IVF centre (Centre for Reproductive Medicine) Duration of recruitment: February 2003 to December 2006 Duration of trial: 3 years and 10 months Follow‐up: not mentioned |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: women 10 lU/l; past history of allergy to NSAID, women with asthma, peptic ulcer disease or inflammatory bowel disease #Randomised; 381; baseline characteristics: mean age (years): control 35, diclofenac sodium 34.1 |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: diclofenac sodium (100 mg) orally (n = 185); control/no treatment (n = 190). Specifically, a single dose of diclofenac sodium 100 mg was administered as suppository at the end of oocyte retrieval (Voltarol®, Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Surrey, UK) or nothing. Authors stated that it was not considered ethical to administer a placebo as a suppository Co‐interventions: dexamethasone (1 mg; Organon, UK) was commenced on the first day of gonadotrophin administration and continued until the night before oocyte retrieval to optimize ovarian response. Norethisterone (Pharmacia, UK) 5 mg twice daily was administered orally for 7 days from day 19 of the preceding cycle to reduce the incidence of functional ovarian cysts Long luteal phase protocol |
|
| Outcomes | Primary outcomes: implantation rate and clinical pregnancy rate Secondary outcomes: median pain scores prior to discharge were measured using the linear visual analogue pain scores (0 = no pain, 100 = worst pain) |
|
| Notes | Ethics: the study was conducted following approval from the local research ethics committee and participants gave written informed consent for all clinical procedures Funding: not mentioned Protocol: not mentioned The study was performed at Centre for Reproductive Medicine, University of Bristol |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Low risk | The randomisation was done as per computer‐generated model |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | Low risk | A block randomisation list was used in order to balance the number receiving diclofenac sodium versus no treatment (controls) after every 20 women enrolled |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | Low risk | Participants and nurses were blinded as regards diclofenac sodium administration |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | Unclear risk | Not described |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | High risk | No loss to follow‐up. Not examined the primary outcome of interest of this review |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Low risk | None. Authors report all initially planned outcomes, including side effects |
| Other bias | Low risk | No other sources of bias identified. The study was initially powered as a ‘non‐inferiority’ study for the pregnancy rate |
Kumbasar 2017.
| Methods | Study type: prospective randomised clinical trial Country: Turkey Setting: 255 women diagnosed with primary or secondary infertility Duration of recruitment: not stated Duration of trial: not stated Follow‐up: not stated |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: women with male or tubal related factor, endometriosis or no detectable cause was the reason for infertility in all participants Exclusion: women with space‐occupying lesions, such as submucous myomas or polyps in the endometrial cavity, a congenital cavity disorder, such as uterine septum, or an acquired cavity disorder, such as Asherman syndrome |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: the participants were divided randomly into 3 groups. Group 1 (n = 85) received sublingual piroxicam (10 mg Felden flash capsules) and group 2 (n = 85) indomethacin (Endol 100 mg suppositories) 1 to 2 h before ET. Group 3 (n = 85), the control, did not receive any form of treatment before ET Co‐intevention: long‐term standard GnRH agonist (long protocol), a microdose protocol or an antagonist protocol. The protocol and GnRH doses were chosen according to the participant’s age, BMI, ovarian grade, basal FSH and E2 levels, history and response to treatment. In all participants, ETs were performed on day 2 following OR |
|
| Outcomes | The rates of implantation, ongoing (authors define it after 24 weeks) and clinical pregnancy and miscarriage. Also, authors reported adverse effects resulting from the use of piroxicam or indomethacin, and congenital anomalies observed during antenatal ultrasound screening | |
| Notes | Ethics: approval for the study was obtained from the hospital’s Training and Planning Coordination Committee. The participants were informed in detail about the study, and their consent was also obtained Funding: not mentioned Protocol: not mentioned The study was performed at Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Sakarya Research and Education Hospital, Adapazarı, Sakarya, Turkey |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Unclear risk | Auhtors stated that the participants were divided randomly into 3 groups, but no further information was available |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | High risk | Not mentioned |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not mentioned |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not mentioned |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | Low risk | Primary outcomes of the review were addressed |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Unclear risk | Not mentioned |
| Other bias | Unclear risk | No protocol or power calculation provided |
Moon 2004.
| Methods | Study type: prospective, randomised, double‐blinded, placebo‐controlled clinical study Country: Korea Setting: large urban medical centre Duration of recruitment: March 1998 to February 2000 Duration of trial: 2 years Follow‐up: not mentioned |
|
| Participants | 188 consecutive cycles of fresh IVF–ET and 78 cycles of frozen–thawed ET Inclusion: all women who underwent IVF because of tubal, male infertility, unexplained or endometriosis factor Exclusion: all not included in the above group #Randomised; baseline characteristics: mean age: control 32.7 years, beta cyclodextrin piroxicam 33.2 years |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: the 188 fresh IVF–ET cycles and 78 frozen–thawed ET cycles were randomly divided into treatment and control groups. In the fresh ET cycles, the treatment group (94 cycles) received an oral dose of 10 mg of piroxicam (Brexin; Kolon Inc., Daejeon, Korea), and the control group (94 cycles) received a placebo. In the frozen–thawed ET cycles, 39 cycles received 10 mg of piroxicam orally (treatment group) and 39 cycles were treated with placebo (control group). Both groups started piroxicam or placebo treatment 1 to 2 hours before ET Co‐intervention: long standard protocol with GnRH agonist |
|
| Outcomes | Primary outcomes: implantation rate and clinical pregnancy rate Secondary outcomes: not reported |
|
| Notes | Ethics: approved by Institutional Review Board of the Human Investigation Committee of Good Moon‐Hwa Hospital; written informed consent from all participants Funding: not mentioned No adverse effects due to piroxicam reported. |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Low risk | Author's response: centralized randomisation process; computer generated |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | High risk | Not provided |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | Low risk | Participants and staff were blinded to the treatment |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not provided |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | High risk | Authors did not address the primary outcomes of interest of this review |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Low risk | None detected |
| Other bias | Unclear risk | No protocol or power calculation provided |
Rijken‐Zijlstra 2013.
| Methods | Study type: double blind, randomised, placebo‐controlled trial on the effectiveness of indomethacin to prevent ovulation in modified natural cycle Country: the Netherlands Setting: tertiary fertility centre, University Medical Centre Groningen, the Netherlands Duration of recruitment: December 2005 to April 2007 Duration of trial: 1 year and 4 months Follow‐up: upto 12 weeks of pregnancy |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: women qualifying for IVF between 18 and 36 years and who had an ovulatory cycle between 26 and 35 days; no ovarian cysts; no previous IVF treatments (except when this treatment had resulted in an ongoing pregnancy); no contraindications for the use of indometacin (e.g. asthma or hypersensitivity) Exclusion: all not included in the above group #Randomised; baseline characteristics: n = 120 women (age 18 to 36 years) qualifying for IVF and with regular ovulatory cycles |
|
| Interventions | Participants were randomly assigned to undergo a maximum of 6 cycles of modified natural‐cycle IVF, either with the
addition of indometacin (60 women) or of matching placebo capsules (60 women) Intervention: group n = 60 i.e. 250 cycles (indomethacin; 50 mg 3 times a day from the day of ovulation trigger until the morning of oocyte retrieval) vs control group n = 60 i.e 274 cycles (placebo capsules 3 times a day from the day of ovulation trigger until the morning of oocyte retrieval) Co‐intervention: modified natural‐cycle IVF. Embryo transfer was performed on the 3rd day after OR |
|
| Outcomes | Primary outcomes: the percentage of women without premature ovulation at the scheduled time of oocyte retrieval in a maximum of 6 modified natural‐cycle IVF cycles Secondary outcomes: LH concentrations on the day of ovulation triggering and the numbers of oocyte retrievals, oocytes obtained, fertilized oocytes, embryo transfers, clinical pregnancies and ongoing pregnancies |
|
| Notes | Ethics: approved by the Institutional Review Board (IRB reference METc 2005/074, approved 24 June 2005) and written informed consent was obtained from participants Funding: Merck Sharp & Dohme who also provided the drug under study; Ferring Pharmaceuticals; Merck Serono The trial was registered under Current Controlled Trials Number ISRCTN11805686 (www.controlled‐trials.com) The sample size was calculated for the primary endpoint |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Low risk | Randomisation done using SPSS statistical software with block randomisation |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | Unclear risk | Not described |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | Low risk | Participants and physicians unaware of treatment allocation |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | Unclear risk | It was unclear whether the outcome assessor was blinded |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | Low risk | Authors include primary endpoints of this review and side effects |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Low risk | All primary and secondary outcomes were reported including adverse events. Intention‐to‐treat analysis |
| Other bias | High risk | Trial funded by pharmaceutical company and the role of the funder was not described The sample size was calculated for the primary endpoint |
Sohrabvand 2009.
| Methods | Study type: double blind clinical trial (pilot study) Country: Iran Setting: Vali‐e‐Asr hospital Duration of recruitment: August 2005 to December 2006 Duration of trial: 1 year 3 months Follow‐up: Up to 2 weeks after embryo transfer |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: ART was recommended by an infertility specialist due to tubal factors, ovulation disorders, or severe male factor, a 3rd‐day FSH serum level of < 10 IU/L Exclusion: systemic diseases or endometriosis #Randomised; baseline characteristics: 66 women with mean age of 29.12 ± 4.9 referring to Vali‐e‐asr hospital (Iran) who underwent ART. Of the couples, 77% had primary infertility, 59% of which were due to male factor. Duration of infertility was 6.33 ± 3.61 years |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: Group A (n = 22): indomethacin 10 mg/rectal; Group B (n = 22): hyoscine 100 mg/rectal (not NSAID), 30 minutes before embryo transfer; Group C (n = 22): no treatment Co‐intervention: long GnRH analogue protocol |
|
| Outcomes | Primary outcomes: biochemical pregnancy, abdominal muscle cramps Secondary outcomes: not mentioned |
|
| Notes | Ethics: not mentioned Protocol: not mentioned Funding: Tehran University of Medical Sciences Study performed in Department of Infertility, Vali‐e‐Asr Reproductive Health Research Center, Vali‐e‐Asr Hospital, Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Tehran, Iran |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Unclear risk | Not described and no response from authors on random sequence generation |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | Low risk | Author's response: sealed, opaque, sequentially numbered, identical envelopes |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | Unclear risk | Double blind mentioned though not described in detail how it was done |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not described |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | High risk | No missing participants, but the primary outcomes of the review were not included |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Unclear risk | No evidence of selective outcome reporting |
| Other bias | High risk | Small sample size, no protocol used, no power calculation |
Sohrabvand 2014.
| Methods | Study type: double blind clinical trial (pilot study) Country: Iran Setting: Vali‐e‐Asr hospital Duration of recruitment: August 2010 to December 2011 Duration of trial: 1 year 4 months Follow‐up: up to 2 weeks from embryo transfer |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: age group of 20 to 35 years old and with ART indication due to tubal factors, ovulation disorders or severe male factor Exclusion: systemic diseases and endometriosis 50 women randomised |
|
| Interventions | Intervention: Group A received piroxicam (10 mg, Tolid Daru, Iran) orally 30 minutes before embryo transfer and group B did not use any form of medication which is the conventional method used (control group). Co‐intervention: long GnRH analogue protocol |
|
| Outcomes | Outcome parameters: abdominal muscle cramps, biochemical pregnancy (β‐hCG positive) | |
| Notes | Ethics: approval from the Ethical Committee of Tehran University of Medical Sciences; written informed
consent from participants Funding: Tehran University of Medical Sciences Protocol: not mentioned |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | High risk | Not mentioned |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | Unclear risk | Mentioned in the text, but no further data are available |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not mentioned |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | High risk | Not mentioned |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | High risk | No missing participants, but the primary outcomes of the review were not addressed |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Unclear risk | No evidence of selective outcome reporting |
| Other bias | High risk | Small sample size, no protocol used, no power calculation |
Zhao 2017.
| Methods | Study type: single‐centre, prospective, double‐blind, randomised, placebo‐controlled study Country: China Setting: university hospital in Beijing, China Duration of recruitment: March to April 2016 Duration of trial: 2 months Follow‐up: up to 2 weeks from embryo transfer |
|
| Participants | Inclusion: age group of 20 to 35 years old and with ART indication due to tubal factors, ovulation disorders or severe male factor Exclusion: women allergic to any anaesthetic, analgesic, or NSAID, had a history of asthma, peptic ulcer disease, or inflammatory bowel disease Age in the study group 34 ± 4 vs. 32 ± 4 in the control group 200 women randomised |
|
| Interventions | Participants were prospectively allocated to 2 groups, the flurbiprofen axetil group (FA group) or the placebo group (control group). 1 single dose of FA given 30 minutes before ultrasound‐guided transvaginal oocyte retrieval Co‐intervention: long luteal down‐regulation protocol, a flare‐up agonist protocol, or an antagonist protocol according to physician evaluation of participants’ potential response to stimulation protocol |
|
| Outcomes | Primary outcome parameters: pregnancy rate (clinical) Secondary outcomes: consumption of analgesic rescue, the number and grading of body movements during the procedure, postoperative pain score, and biomarker (PGE2) concentration in follicular fluid, consumption of tramadol after being discharged |
|
| Notes | Ethics: approval from the institutional review board of the Peking University People’s Hospital; written informed consent
was obtained from all participants on admission Funding: department research funding, 2016‐01 Protocol: Clinical trials registration number is ChiCTR‐IPR‐16008133 (www.chictr.org.cn, 22 March 2016; Yi Feng, MD) Study conducted at Department of Anesthesiology and Reproductive Medical Center, Peking University People’s Hospital, Beijing, China The study was initially powered as a non‐inferiority study for the pregnancy rate |
|
| Risk of bias | ||
| Bias | Authors' judgement | Support for judgement |
| Random sequence generation (selection bias) | Low risk | Computer‐generated random number list that was stored in sealed envelopes |
| Allocation concealment (selection bias) | Low risk | Provided by sealed envelopes from a nurse who was not involved in the actual conduct of the study |
| Blinding of participants and personnel (performance bias) All outcomes | Low risk | The study coordinator, attending anaesthesiologist, data collection resident, and the participants were all unaware of treatment group assignment |
| Blinding of outcome assessment (detection bias) All outcomes | Low risk | Data provided |
| Incomplete outcome data (attrition bias) All outcomes | High risk | No missing participants, but the primary outcomes of the review were not addressed |
| Selective reporting (reporting bias) | Low risk | No evidence for such bias |
| Other bias | Low risk | Protocol provided, power calculation provided, side effects mentioned |
Abbreviations:
NSAID: nonsteroidal anti‐inflammatory drug FSH: follicle stimulating hormone LH: luteinizing hormone E2: estradiol BMI: Body Mass Index ART: assisted reproductive technology IVF/ICSI: in vitro fertilization / intracytoplasmic sperm injection OR: oocyte retrieval ET: embryo transfer 2 pn: 2 pronuclei IU/l: international units per litre Mg; milligrams b‐HCG: human chorionic gonadotropin GnRH: gonadotropin‐releasing hormone
Characteristics of excluded studies [ordered by study ID]
| Study | Reason for exclusion |
|---|---|
| Akande 2006 | Not true RCT |
| Aldeery 2006 | Non‐randomised trial |
| Bernabeu 2006 | A pilot trial on oocyte recipients |
| Bou Nemer 2017 | Non‐randomised trial |
| Bou Nemer 2019 | Study on follicular fluid levels of interleukins after a single‐dose of ibuprofen |
| Kadoch 2008 | Retrospective study |
| Kawachiya 2012 | Retrospective cohort study |
| Lier 2015 | Comparison of opioids |
| Matsota 2012 | Comparison of an opioid |
| Mesen 2013 | Retrospective study |
| Mialon 2011 | Retrospective study |
| NCT02571543 | Non‐randomised trial ‒ protocol |
| Sallam 1999 | Inadequate and vague description of methodology and results |
| Sarhan 2015 | Study on IUI |
| Seidler 2018 | Non RCT |
| Shah Nawaz 2014 | Non‐randomised, comparing standard GnRH analogues with aromatase inhibitors, indomethacine and gonadotrophins |
| Zarei 2016 | RCT on piroxicam in IUI cycles |
Characteristics of ongoing studies [ordered by study ID]
NCT02642601.
| Trial name or title | Role of Indomethacin in Difficult Embryo Transfer |
| Methods | Study type: interventional (clinical trial) Allocation: randomised Intervention model: parallel assignment Masking: none (open label) Primary purpose: prevention |
| Participants | Estimated enrolment: 100 participants Ages eligible for study: 20 years to 38 years Inclusion criteria: infertile women undergoing ICSI cycle with difficult mock transfer done on day of ovum pick‐up Exclusion criteria: repeated ICSI failure Easy mock embryo transfer on day of ovum pick‐up Early follicular FSH > 10 IU/l Past history of allergy to NSAID Past history of asthma, peptic ulcer disease or inflammatory bowel disease. Endometrial pathology |
| Interventions | Experimental: indomethacin 1 dose of indomethacin 100 mg rectal suppository will be administered 1 to 2 hours before embryo transfer No intervention: no medication No indomethacine before embryo transfer |
| Outcomes | Primary outcome measures: clinical pregnancy rate +ve pregnancy test + gestational sac with fetal pulsation by ultrasound Secondary outcome measures: implantation rate, ongoing pregnancy rate |
| Starting date | March 2014 |
| Contact information | Dr Mona M Shaban, Cairo University IVF center, Cairo University Hospital, Cairo, Egypt Contact: Sherin H Gad Allah, MD +201097665573
[email protected] Contact: Mona M Shaban, MD +201001078586
[email protected] Kamal Shoeir private IVF center, Cairo, Egypt |
| Notes | Mỹ Đức Hospital Recruitment Status: recruiting ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT02642601 |
Abbreviations:
NSAID: nonsteroidal anti‐inflammatory drug FSH: follicle stimulating hormone ICSI: intracytoplasmic sperm injection
Differences between protocol and review
We have updated the Methods section to current Cochrane standards.
Miscarriage rate was moved to the primary outcomes and clinical pregnancy rate was added to the secondary outcomes to provide a more meaningful approach to the research question. Adverse effects of the drugs administered were considered to have had a temporary effect on the quality of life of the patient, thus these were analysed in the relevant section.
We conducted analyses using RR instead of OR because this is our preferred analysis method, as we estimate probability and not odds for the specific question of the review; notably, results were not affected using ORs.
Contributions of authors
AN lead author: writing of the protocol, extracting data of included studies, conducting the analysis and drafting the manuscript.
CSS: re‐writing of most sections, participating in the selection of studies, and final drafting of manuscript.
DV: extracting data of included studies, conducting the analysis and developing tables and figures.
Sources of support
Internal sources
-
Marian Showell, New Zealand.
The review authors wish to acknowledge Marian Showell (CGF Information Specialist)
External sources
Cochrane South Africa, South Africa.
Declarations of interest
AN, DV and CSS have no conflicts of interests to disclose.
New