Results
A total of 4244 articles were screened, and 3962 were retrieved. The full texts of 282 studies were reviewed; 222 did not meet our inclusion criteria. Finally, 60 RCTs meeting our criteria were included. All studies were published between January 1987 [ 23 ] and November 2017. [ 24 ] Forty-four studies were published in Chinese, [ 24 – 67 ] 15 in English, [ 11 , 23 , 68 – 80 ] and 1 in Korean. [ 81 ] Figure 1 shows a Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) flow of the study selection process. [ 82 ]
PRISMA flow chart of the study selection process used for meta-analysis. PRISMA = Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses.
A total of 3171 patients were treated with MA, EA, warm acupuncture (WA), AA, or catgut embedding therapy (CET); 2730 control patients received no treatment, placebo acupuncture, or oral medications. Of 60 trials, 55 were conducted in China (5653 patients), [ 24 – 71 , 73 – 79 ] and 1 each was conducted in America (22 patients), [ 23 ] Turkey (35 patients), [ 72 ] Australia (92 patients), [ 80 ] Thailand (52 patients), [ 11 ] and South Korea (47 patients), [ 81 ] respectively. The age range of the participants was 10 to 43 years. Table 1 summarizes the characteristics of the included studies.
Summary of the included studies.
Summary of the included studies.
Of 60 trials, 35 used MA, [ 11 , 23 – 25 , 27 – 29 , 31 , 33 , 34 , 37 , 41 , 43 , 44 , 49 – 52 , 57 – 64 , 66 – 70 , 72 , 77 , 80 , 81 ] 11 used EA, [ 30 , 40 , 47 , 48 , 55 , 73 – 76 , 78 , 79 ] 11 used WA, [ 32 , 35 , 36 , 39 , 42 , 45 , 46 , 53 , 54 , 56 , 65 ] 1 used AA, [ 38 ] and 2 used CET. [ 26 , 71 ] The number of acupoints used varied from 1 to 21. The most frequently used point was Sanyinjiao (SP6), followed by Guanyuan (CV4), Diji (SP8), Cialiao (BL32), Zusanli (ST36), Xuehai (SP10), Taichong (LR3), Zhongji (CV3), Shiqizhui (EX-B8), and Shenshu (BL23). The only point used in 9 trials that used EA was Sanyinjiao (SP6). Twenty-one trials used different acupoints or added acupoints based on traditional Chinese medicine patterns. [ 26 , 31 , 35 , 36 , 50 , 55 , 57 – 60 , 62 – 64 , 66 , 70 , 71 , 80 , 81 ] Treatment duration ranged from one day to 3 menstrual cycles; 25 trials included follow-ups, [ 23 , 24 , 26 – 28 , 33 , 36 , 42 , 45 , 47 , 49 , 50 , 52 , 54 , 57 – 60 , 62 , 68 , 73 , 75 – 77 , 80 ] which varied from 180 minutes to one year. The time of intervention started before menstruation started in 31 trials, [ 27 – 32 , 34 – 38 , 42 – 45 , 51 , 53 – 60 , 62 , 63 , 65 , 66 , 68 , 69 , 72 ] when menstruation started in 4 trials, [ 46 , 73 , 75 , 78 ] when pain occurred in 10 trials, [ 24 , 33 , 40 , 41 , 47 – 49 , 52 , 74 , 79 ] and continuous treatment except for menstrual periods in 6 trials. [ 11 , 23 , 26 , 39 , 71 , 80 ] De-qi sensation was performed in most trials, but 4 studies did not mention about De-qi sensation. [ 23 , 38 , 41 , 50 ] Additional interventions to acupuncture were included in 15 trials. [ 11 , 35 , 39 , 40 , 47 , 48 , 59 , 60 , 73 – 76 , 78 – 80 ] Table 2 shows the acupuncture points and treatment methods of the included studies based on STandards for Reporting Interventions in Clinical Trials of Acupuncture (STRICTA) recommendations. [ 84 ]
Acupuncture interventions of the included studies based on STRICTA recommendations.
Acupuncture interventions of the included studies based on STRICTA recommendations.
Acupuncture interventions of the included studies based on STRICTA recommendations.
Acupuncture interventions of the included studies based on STRICTA recommendations.
Of the 35 trials that used MA, 14 compared MA to no treatment, [ 25 , 27 – 29 , 33 , 37 , 41 , 49 , 52 , 58 – 60 , 68 , 77 ] 3 compared MA to placebo acupuncture, [ 23 , 80 , 81 ] and 18 compared MA to oral medications. [ 11 , 24 , 31 , 34 , 43 , 44 , 50 , 51 , 57 , 61 – 64 , 66 , 67 , 69 , 70 , 72 ] Most of the medications were NSAIDs, and only 1 was an OC. [ 11 ] Of the 11 trials that used EA, 4 compared EA to nonacupoint EA (placebo EA), or no treatment, [ 47 , 73 , 76 , 78 ] 5 compared EA to nonacupoint EA, [ 40 , 48 , 74 , 75 , 79 ] and 2 compared EA to NSAIDs. [ 30 , 55 ] Of 11 trials that used WA, [ 32 , 35 , 36 , 39 , 42 , 45 , 46 , 53 , 54 , 56 , 65 ] 2 trials compared WA plus NSAIDs to NSAIDs [ 35 , 39 ] and 9 trials compared WA to NSAIDs. [ 32 , 35 , 36 , 39 , 42 , 45 , 46 , 53 , 54 , 56 , 65 ] One trial compared AA to NSAIDs. [ 38 ] Two trials compared CET to NSAIDs. [ 26 , 71 ] All of the placebo controls used nonacupoint acupuncture, not sham acupuncture.
Twenty-seven trials measured pain intensity using VAS, [ 26 , 32 , 33 , 38 – 40 , 44 , 46 – 49 , 51 , 52 , 55 , 57 – 59 , 65 , 70 , 72 – 76 , 78 , 79 , 81 ] 1 used NRS, [ 11 ] 9 used CMSS, [ 25 , 27 – 29 , 32 , 37 , 41 , 68 , 77 ] 5 used VRS, [ 40 , 60 , 73 , 75 , 76 ] and 8 used RSS. [ 40 , 47 , 48 , 58 , 60 , 73 , 75 , 76 ] Thirty trials measured pain relief. [ 23 , 24 , 26 , 30 – 32 , 34 – 36 , 39 , 42 – 46 , 50 , 51 , 53 – 56 , 61 – 64 , 66 , 67 , 69 – 71 ] Six trials measured overall menstruation symptoms using MSS. [ 24 , 26 , 44 , 45 , 51 , 71 ] Three trials measured the quality of life using SF-36. [ 11 , 26 , 80 ] Twelve trials reported AEs. [ 11 , 47 , 54 , 62 , 65 , 71 , 73 , 75 , 76 , 78 , 80 , 81 ] Finally, of 25 trials conducting follow-ups, 10 trials reported the pain intensity after a follow-up period, [ 23 , 26 , 33 , 49 , 52 , 57 – 59 , 75 , 80 ] ,which varied from 180 minutes to 9 months by study. Most studies reported various outcomes measuring dysmenorrhea and related symptoms.
All 60 studies mentioned randomization. Twenty trials used random number tables, [ 23 , 24 , 26 , 33 , 38 , 43 , 44 , 49 , 51 , 52 , 54 , 57 – 61 , 65 , 67 , 71 , 81 ] 10 used a computer-generated sequence, [ 11 , 48 , 73 – 80 ] 5 used central random method, [ 28 , 29 , 37 , 40 , 41 ] and 1 used the draw method. [ 32 ] Three trials used the order of joining the study, [ 34 , 69 , 72 ] and the other studies did not report the details of randomization. Sixteen studies reported appropriate allocation concealment [ 11 , 28 – 30 , 37 , 40 , 41 , 47 , 48 , 73 – 77 , 79 , 80 ] using computer programs, central telephone controls, sealed envelopes, or independent individual controls.
It is difficult to achieve blinding to both participants and practitioners for the characteristics of study design in acupuncture intervention, but 14 studies mentioned efforts to minimize performance bias, [ 23 , 28 , 40 , 47 , 48 , 73 – 81 ] so we assessed the risk of bias as low. Twelve studies reported assessor blinding, [ 23 , 28 , 40 , 48 , 73 – 80 ] but most of the others did not report the details.
Most of the studies had no missing data, performed intention-to-treat (ITT) analysis, or had similar numbers and reasons of drop-outs. However, the details of drop-outs and withdrawals were not reported in 6 studies, [ 27 , 30 , 36 , 66 , 71 , 81 ] considered to be a high risk in reporting bias. Forty-nine studies reported all outcomes clearly as mentioned in protocol studies or methods [ 11 , 23 – 25 , 27 – 34 , 37 – 39 , 41 – 46 , 48 – 65 , 67 – 72 , 75 , 78 – 80 ] and were assessed as a low risk of bias in selective reporting. Six studies reported the outcomes unclearly [ 26 , 47 , 66 , 73 , 74 , 81 ] and were assessed as an unclear risk of bias, and 5 studies did not report all outcomes as planned [ 35 , 36 , 40 , 76 , 77 ] and were assessed as a high risk of bias. There was a low risk of other sources of bias based on lack of clear evidence. As shown in Figures 2 and 3 , most of the studies included in this meta-analysis achieved a low or unclear risk of bias of the quality assessment items.
Risk of bias graph: review of the authors’ judgments regarding each risk of bias item presented as percentages across all included studies.
Risk of bias summary: review of the authors’ judgments regarding each risk of bias item in each included study.
VAS. Five studies [ 33 , 49 , 52 , 58 , 59 ] were included in the meta-analysis to synthesize VAS data. As shown in Figure 4 A, the pooled results showed serious heterogeneity ( I 2 = 98%). We conducted a subgroup analysis, and the pooled results showed that after treatment of 1 day, MA more effectively reduced primary dysmenorrhea than no treatment (n = 210, SMD = −1.59, 95% CI [−2.12, −1.06], P < .001, I 2 = 60%).
Meta-analysis of the studies evaluating the effects of MA on primary dysmenorrhea. (A) MA vs no treatment, outcome: VAS. (B) MA vs no treatment, outcome: CMSS for pain intensity. (C) MA vs no treatment, outcome: RSS. (D) MA vs no treatment, outcome: VAS after follow-up. (E) MA vs NSAIDs, outcome: VAS. (F) MA vs NSAIDs, outcome: TER. (G) MA vs NSAIDs, outcome: MSS. CMSS = Cox menstrual symptom scale, MA = manual acupuncture, NSAID = nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug, MSS = menstrual symptom score, RSS = Cox retrospective symptom scale, TER = total effective rate, VAS = visual analog scale.
VRS. One study [ 60 ] reported that after the treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, MA more effectively reduced primary dysmenorrhea than no treatment (n = 96, MD = −2.04, 95% CI [−2.11, −1.97], P < .001).
CMSS for pain intensity. Six studies [ 27 – 29 , 41 , 68 , 77 ] were included in the meta-analysis to synthesize CMSS for pain intensity data. As shown in Figure 4 B, after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, MA more effectively reduced pain than no treatment (n = 838, MD = −7.08, 95% CI [−8.53, −5.63], P < .001, I 2 = 50%). Two studies [ 25 , 37 ] reported the subscales of CMSS for pain intensity; 1 study [ 25 ] reported the MA significantly reduced abdominal pain, and the other [ 37 ] reported that the MA significantly reduced extra bed time.
RSS. Two studies [ 58 , 60 ] were included for meta-analysis to synthesize RSS data. As shown in Figure 4 C, after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, MA more effectively reduced pain than no treatment (n = 141, MD = −10.47, 95% CI [−10.74, −10.20], P < .001, I 2 = 93%).
VAS after follow-up. Five studies [ 33 , 49 , 52 , 58 , 59 ] were included for meta-analysis to synthesize VAS after follow-up data. As shown in Figure 4 D, the pooled results showed serious heterogeneity ( I 2 = 98%). We conducted a subgroup analysis, and after a 180-minute follow-up, MA was significantly more effective than no treatment (n = 210, SMD = −1.22, 95% CI [−1.53, −0.91], P < .001, I 2 = 0%).
Pain intensity. Three studies reported pain scores, [ 23 , 80 , 81 ] but data were unsuitable for pooling because the score systems of the studies were different from each other. One study [ 23 ] reported that MA lowered monthly pain score after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 22, MD = −70.67, 95% CI [−126.52, −14.82], P = .01) and another study [ 80 ] reported that MA lowered the pain score after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles without significant differences (n = 92, MD = −0.7, 95% CI [−1.8, 0.4], P = .21). The other study [ 81 ] also reported that there were no significant differences between groups after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 47).
Pain relief. One study [ 23 ] reported that after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, MA provided a significant improvement in pain compared to placebo acupuncture (n = 22, RR = 2.50, 95% CI [1.12, 5.58], P < .05).
SF-36. One study [ 80 ] reported that after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, there was no significant difference in all SF-36 subscales or both component scores between the 2 groups (n = 92, bodily pain MD = −6.1, 95% CI [−15.1, 2.8], P = .18; General health MD = 5.1, 95% CI [−3.0, 13.2], P = .22; Vitality MD = 3.2, 95% CI [−5.1, 11.6], P = .44; Social function MD = 1.1, 95% CI [−8.0, 10.3], P = .81; Role emotional MD = 2.2, 95% CI [−12.7, 17.1], P = .77; Mental health MD = 6.0, 95% CI [−1.7, 13.6], P = .13; Overall Physical Component MD = −2.3, 95% CI [−5.9, 1.2], P = .19; Overall Mental Component MD = 3.5, 95% CI [−1.1, 8.1], P = .71).
Pain intensity after follow-up. Two studies [ 23 , 80 ] reported this outcome. One study [ 23 ] reported MA maintained pain reduction until 9 months after the completion of treatment (n = 22, MD = −64.90, 95% CI [−122.11, −7.69], P = .03). The other [ 80 ] reported there were no significant differences between the groups after 3- and 9-month follow-up periods.
AEs. Two studies [ 80 , 81 ] reported there were no AEs.
Pain intensity. Five studies [ 44 , 51 , 57 , 70 , 72 ] comparing MA to NSAIDs reported VAS, and 1 study [ 11 ] comparing MA to OCs reported a change in NRS. As shown in Figure 4 E, the MA was significantly more effective at reducing pain than NSAIDs (n = 255, SMD = −0.63, 95% CI [−0.88, −0.37], P < .001, I 2 = 0%). Meanwhile, OCs were more effective than MA after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 52, MD = 1.58, 95% CI [0.36, 2.80], P < .01).
Pain relief. Fourteen studies [ 24 , 31 , 34 , 43 , 44 , 50 , 51 , 61 – 64 , 66 , 69 , 70 ] comparing MA to NSAIDs were included for meta-analysis to synthesize TER data. As shown in Figure 4 F, MA provided significant pain relief compared to NSAIDs (n = 1,049, RR = 1.17, 95% CI [1.11, 1.22], P < .001, I 2 = 0%). The funnel plot of those studies did not show asymmetry. One study [ 67 ] reported pain relief as percentage using 6-Likert score, and also showed significant pain relief compared to NSAIDs (n = 84, RR = 2.97, 95% CI [1.75, 5.05], P < .01).
MSS. Three studies [ 24 , 44 , 51 ] comparing MA to NSAIDs reported MSS. As shown in Figure 4 G, MA was significantly more effective at improving menstrual symptoms than NSAIDs after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 190, SMD = −0.53, 95% CI [−0.84, −0.23], P < .001, I 2 = 2%).
SF-36. One study [ 11 ] reported that there was no significance difference between the 2 groups after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 52, MD = −1.82, 95% CI [−9.36, 5.72], P = .64).
VAS after follow-up. One study [ 57 ] reported that after a 3-month follow-up, MA was significantly more effective than NSAIDs (n = 60, MD = −1.39, 95% CI [−2.65, −0.13], P < .05).
AEs. Two studies [ 11 , 62 ] reported AEs. One study [ 11 ] reported one case of regional discomfort or hemorrhage, 4 cases of headache or myalgia, and 1 case of fever in the MA group, which were all mild. Meanwhile, in the OCs group [ 11 ] , 9 cases of abnormal uterine bleeding, 5 cases of headache or myalgia, 3 cases of weight gain, 2 cases of nausea or vomiting, and 1 case of breast bleeding were reported; they were all already known AEs of OCs and were not severe. The other study [ 62 ] reported 3 cases of elevated alanine transaminase (ALT), 2 cases of blurred vision, 3 cases of lumbar and leg pain, and 5 cases of others, which were predictable reactions, and soon disappeared.
VAS. Four studies [ 47 , 73 , 76 , 78 ] reported that EA was significantly more effective at reducing pain than no treatment (n = 97, MD = −15.56, 95% CI [−22.16, −8.95], P < .001 [ 73 ] ; n = 26, MD = −23.19, 95% CI [−32.06, −14.33], P < .001 [ 76 ] ; n = 20, MD = −22.50, 95% CI [−31.70, −13.30], P < .005 [ 78 ] ; n = 97, P < .001; details of data not shown [ 47 ] ). Data were unsuitable for pooling for means and SDs were not reported.
VRS. Two studies [ 73 , 76 ] reported that there was no significant difference between the groups. Data were unsuitable for pooling because they reported the results only in graphs, which made it hard to extract raw data.
RSS. Three studies [ 47 , 73 , 76 ] reported this outcome. Two studies [ 73 , 76 ] showed there was no significant difference in RSS, but the other study [ 47 ] showed that EA was significantly more effective than no treatment in RSS-COX2 ( P < .05). Data were unsuitable for pooling because they reported the results only as graphs, which made it hard to extract raw data.
AEs. Four studies [ 47 , 73 , 76 , 78 ] reported AEs, but 1study [ 73 ] showed 1 case of dizziness after EA.
VAS. Nine studies [ 40 , 47 , 48 , 73 – 76 , 78 , 79 ] reported this outcome; only 6 studies [ 40 , 48 , 73 , 75 , 78 , 79 ] were included in the meta-analysis because the other 3 did not provide SDs. As shown in Figure 5 A, the VAS of the EA group was significantly lower than placebo group (n = 826, SMD = −0.32, 95% CI [−0.63, −0.01], P = .04, I 2 = 69%). Of the 3 studies excluded from meta-analysis [ 47 , 74 , 76 ] , 1 study [ 74 ] reported that EA was significantly more effective in reducing pain than the placebo group in cold-dampness stagnation after one session of treatment (n = 487, MD = −8.2, 95% CI [−13.5, −2.9], P < .005); in other types, there was no significant difference. Another study [ 76 ] showed the same result after treatment of 1 menstrual cycle (n = 25, MD = −20.78, 95% CI [−29.82, −11.73], P < .001). The other RCT [ 47 ] reported that there was no significant difference between the groups after treatment of 1 menstrual cycle (n = 97, details of data not shown).
Meta-analysis of the studies evaluating the effects of EA on primary dysmenorrhea. (A) EA versus PA, outcome: VAS. (B) EA versus PA, outcome: VRS. (C) EA versus NSAIDs, outcome: TER. EA = electroacupuncture, IV = inverse variance, NSAIDs = nonsteroidal inflammatory drugs, NSAID = nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug, PA = placebo acupuncture, SD = standard deviations, TER = total effective rate, VAS = visual analog scale, VRS = seven-point verbal rating scale.
VRS. Three studies [ 73 , 75 , 76 ] reported VRS, but only 2 [ 75 , 76 ] were included in the meta-analysis because the third did not provide SDs. As shown in Figure 5 B, after treatment of 1 menstrual cycle, the VRS in the EA group was lower than the placebo group, but there was no significance (n = 347, MD = −0.20, 95% CI [−0.43, 0.03], P = .10, I 2 = 61%). The other study [ 73 ] also reported a change of VRS in the EA group that was lower than the placebo group, but there was no significance (n = 322, reduction from 3.94 to 3.08 vs reduction 3.72 to 3.02).
RSS. Four studies [ 47 , 73 , 75 , 76 ] reported RSS, but the data were unsuitable for pooling due to insufficient reporting. One study [ 73 ] reported there was no significant difference between the groups (RSS-COX1: reduction from 18.98 to 18.38 vs reduction from 19.44 to 20.20; RSS-COX2: reduction from 11.88 to 11.38 vs reduction from 10.22 to 10.51), and another study [ 75 ] showed no significance after 3 cycles, either (n = 97, RSS-COX1 MD = −0.8, 95% CI [−2.2, 0.7], P = .28; RSS-COX2 MD = −0.5, 95% CI [−1.4, 0.4], P = .28). The other 2 studies [ 47 , 76 ] also showed no significance in RSS (data not shown).
VAS after follow-up. One study [ 75 ] reported that after one-cycle follow-up, there were no significance differences between EA and PA groups (n = 322, MD = −4.40, 95% CI [−9.55, 0.75], P = .09).
AEs. Five studies [ 47 , 73 , 75 , 76 , 78 ] reported AEs. Three studies [ 47 , 76 , 78 ] reported there were no AEs, and one [ 73 ] of the other studies reported one case of dizziness after EA. The other study [ 75 ] reported one case of minimal bleeding in the EA group, and one case of minimal bleeding and one case of pain after insertion in the placebo group.
VAS. One study [ 55 ] reported that after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, EA was significantly effective at reducing pain than NSAIDs (n = 60, MD = −1.40, 95% CI [−2.21, −0.59], P < .01).
Pain relief. Two studies [ 30 , 55 ] reported TER, but as shown in Figure 5 C, the pooled results showed no significant differences between 2 groups (n = 140, RR = 1.80, 95% CI [0.99, 1.18], P = .09, I 2 = 0%).
VAS. One study [ 38 ] reported that after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, there were no significant differences between the 2 groups (n = 70, MD = −0.20, 95% CI [−0.90, −0.50], P = .58).
VAS. Three studies [ 32 , 46 , 65 ] were included in the meta-analysis to synthesize VAS data. A meta-analysis of the 3 studies involving 178 participants was implemented, but the results showed serious heterogeneity ( I 2 = 94%). We conducted a sensitivity analysis by excluding the trial [ 65 ] with effect sizes largely different from the others. Statistical heterogeneity was reduced after exclusion. As shown in Figure 6 A, with 2 remaining studies, the VAS of the WA group was significantly lower than NSAIDs group (n = 114, SMD = −1.12, 95% CI [−1.81, −0.43], P = .002, I 2 = 66%).
Meta-analysis of the studies evaluating the effects of WA on primary dysmenorrhea. (A) WA vs NSAIDs, outcome: VAS. (B) WA vs NSAIDs, outcome: TER. (C) WA plus NSAIDs vs NSAIDs, outcome: TER. CI = confidence interval, IV = inverse variance, NSAIDs = nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, SD = standard deviations, TER = total effective rate, VAS = visual analog scale, WA = warm acupuncture.
TER. Eight studies [ 32 , 36 , 42 , 45 , 46 , 53 , 54 , 56 ] were included in the meta-analysis to synthesize TER data. A meta-analysis of the 3 studies involving 614 participants was implemented, but the results showed serious heterogeneity ( I 2 = 77%). We conducted a sensitivity analysis by excluding the trial [ 46 ] with effect sizes largely different from the others. As shown in Figure 6 B, with 6 remaining studies, the WA provided significant pain relief compared to NSAIDs after the treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 570, RR = 1.22, 95% CI [1.10, 1.35], P < .001, I 2 = 53%).
CMSS for pain intensity. One study [ 32 ] reported that after the treatment of 3 menstrual cycles, WA more effectively reduced primary dysmenorrhea than NSAIDs (n = 70, MD = −8.00, 95% CI [−9.54, −6.46], P < .001).
MSS. One study [ 45 ] reported that there were no significant differences between WA and NSAIDs groups (n = 80, MD = −1.09, 95% CI [−2.65, −0.47], P = .17).
AEs. Two studies [ 54 , 65 ] reported AEs. One study [ 54 ] reported 5 cases of nausea, vomiting, and fever in the NSAIDs group, and the other study [ 65 ] reported there were no AEs.
TER. Two studies [ 35 , 39 ] reported that WA adding on NSAIDs provided significant pain relief compared to only NSAIDs after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 160, RR = 1.28, 95% CI [1.12, 1.46], P < .001, I 2 = 0%).
VAS. One study [ 26 ] reported that CET was significantly more effective than NSAIDs after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 70, t = −2.70, P < .01).
TER. Two studies [ 26 , 71 ] reported that CET provided significant pain relief compared to NSAIDs after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles as shown in Figure 7 A (n = 162, RR = 1.40, 95% CI [1.19, 1.65], P < .001, I 2 = 54%).
Meta-analysis of the studies evaluating the effects of CET on primary dysmenorrhea. (A) CET vs NSAIDs, outcome: TER. (B) CET vs NSAIDs, outcome: MSS. CET = catgut embedding therapy, CI = confidence interval, IV = inverse variance, MSS = menstrual symptom score, NSAIDs = nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, SD = standard deviations, TER = total effective rate.
MSS. Two studies [ 26 , 71 ] reported that CET effectively reduced menstrual symptoms compared to NSAIDs after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles with serious heterogeneity as shown in Figure 7 B (n = 162, SMD = −1.57, 95% CI [−1.95, −1.19], P < .001, I 2 = 98%).
SF-36. One study [ 26 ] reported that SF-36 in the CET group was significantly higher than the NSAIDs group after treatment of 3 menstrual cycles (n = 70, t = 2.535, P < .05).
VAS after follow-up. One study [ 26 ] reported that after a 3-month follow-up, CET was significantly more effective than NSAIDs (n = 70, t = −4.72, P < .01).
AEs. One study [ 71 ] reported 6 cases of gastrointestinal discomforts, headache, dizziness, and insomnia in the NSAIDs group.