Intro
Progesterone is needed to maintain early pregnancy, and progesterone supplementation
in assisted reproduction technology (ART) cycles is a well-accepted procedure ( Shapiro et al ., 2014 ; Holmdahl et al ., 1971 ; van der Linden et al ., 2015 ).
Luteal phase deficiency affects women undergoing ART for many reasons. The most
widely accepted theory posits that luteal phase deficiency originates from premature
negative feedback on LH secretion in the pituitary caused by supra-physiological
levels of steroids during controlled ovarian stimulation (COS) sustained after
oocyte aspiration by multiple corpora lutea ( van der
Linden et al ., 2015 ; Fatemi 2009 ).
There is evidence that luteal phase support (LPS) with progesterone, human chorionic
gonadotropin (hCG) or gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH) agonists improves
reproductive outcomes in women undergoing in vitro fertilization (IVF) ( Shapiro et al ., 2014 ; van der Linden et al ., 2015 ;
Fatemi et al ., 2007 ;
Vaisbuch et al ., 2012 ;
Merriam et al ., 2015 ;
Martins et al ., 2016 ).
Since hCG correlates with higher risk of ovarian hyper stimulation syndrome ( van der Linden et al ., 2015 ;
Fatemi et al ., 2007 ;
Vaisbuch et al ., 2012 )
and evidence of the benefits of GnRH agonists is still of very low quality ( Martins et al ., 2016 ),
progesterone appears to be the best option for LPS.
Progesterone can be administered orally, intramuscularly, vaginally or rectally; all
routes seem to present similar levels of efficacy ( Shapiro et al ., 2014 ; van der Linden et al ., 2015 ; Vaisbuch et al ., 2012 ; Merriam et al ., 2015 ). First-pass metabolism
substantially reduces the bioavailability of oral progesterone to <10% ( Nahoul et al ., 1993 ).
Intramuscular progesterone has been associated with pain caused by daily injections,
inflammatory response, and local abscess ( van der
Linden et al ., 2015 ; Fatemi et al ., 2007 ; Vaisbuch et al ., 2012 ; Ghanem & Al-Boghdady, 2012 ). Although fewer adverse events are
observed with the vaginal route ( Maher et
al ., 2013 ), vaginal progesterone causes local irritation,
discharge, and bleeding; it is also affected by coitus, since absorption is
decreased after intercourse ( Merriam et
al ., 2015 ; Ghanem &
Al-Boghdady, 2012 ).
Dydrogesterone is a synthetic progestin with enhanced oral bioavailability, known for
being highly selective for the progesterone receptor ( Kupferminc et al ., 1990 ; Domitrz et al ., 1999 ). It is effective in
treating reproductive disorders such as threatened abortion and recurrent pregnancy
loss, and has also been investigated in the prevention of gestational hypertension
and preterm birth ( Carp, 2012 ; 2015 ; Hudic
et al ., 2016 ; Mohamad Razi et al ., 2016 ). Dydrogesterone has also
been described to provide similar reproductive results as vaginal progesterone
( van der Linden et al .,
2015 ; Barbosa et al .,
2016 ). The oral route of administration is thought to be a more
patient-friendly regimen that might improve compliance to treatment.
The objective of this systematic review and meta-analysis was to identify, appraise,
and summarize the evidence from randomized controlled trials examining the efficacy,
safety, and tolerability of oral dydrogesterone compared to vaginal progesterone
capsules for LPS in women undergoing ART.
Results
An electronic search run in June 7, 2017 retrieved 376 records (PubMed = 77;
Scopus = 216; Embase = 83). Additional papers hand-searched from the references
of the included studies or related reviews were not included. Three hundred and
four papers were excluded after their titles and abstracts were read: 128 were
duplicates and 238 clearly did not meet the eligibility criteria. Ten studies
were further examined for eligibility: one study was excluded because it
compared dydrogesterone with vaginal progesterone capsules for luteal support in
IUI cycles ( Khosravi et al .,
2015 ). Nine studies were included in our quantitative analysis ( Chakravarty et al ., 2005a ;
Ganesh et al ., 2011 ;
Patki & Pawar, 2007 ; Rashidi et al ., 2016 ;
Saharkhiz et al .,
2016 ; Salehpour et
al ., 2013 ; Tournaye
et al ., 2017 ; Zarei et al ., 2017 ; Zargar et al ., 2016 ); four of the nine studies had
groups given medication other than oral dydrogesterone and vaginal progesterone
capsules: vaginal progesterone gel ( Ganesh
et al ., 2011 ); intramuscular progesterone ( Rashidi et al ., 2016 ;
Zargar et al .,
2016 ); dydrogesterone combined with either GnRH agonist or hCG ( Zarei et al ., 2017 ). The
individuals in these groups were not included in the quantitative analysis.
Figure 1 shows the study flow
diagram.
Figure 1 Flowchart of study selection.
Flowchart of study selection.
The characteristics of the nine parallel studies included in the quantitative
analysis are reported in Table 1 . One
study was held in two centers ( Saharkhiz
et al ., 2016 ), one in 38 different sites ( Tournaye et al ., 2017 ),
and the remaining seven were carried out in single centers. Five studies were
conducted in Iran ( Rashidi et
al ., 2016 ; Saharkhiz
et al ., 2016 ; Salehpour et al ., 2013 ; Zarei et al ., 2017 ; Zargar et al ., 2016 ), three in India
( Chakravarty et al .,
2005a ; Ganesh et
al ., 2011 ; Patki &
Pawar, 2007 ), and one in multiple centers in Austria, Belgium,
Germany, Finland, Israel, Russia, and Spain ( Tournaye et al ., 2017 ). Despite attempts to contact
the authors of all studies, additional details were collected from only one
study ( Saharkhiz et al .,
2016 ). All studies were published as full articles. Only patients
using vaginal progesterone capsules were used in the comparisons.
Characteristics of the included studies.
NR = not reported; ART = assisted reproductive technology; FET =
frozen embryo transfer; VP = vaginal progesterone;
* = study vs. control
NOTES: One study reported a conflict of interest ( Tournaye et al. ,
2017 ); Two studies reported funding sources ( Tournaye et al. ,
2017 ; Zarei et
al. , 2017 ); All studies obtained approval
from ethics committees, and one study did not provide informed
consent ( Chakravarty et
al. , 2005a ); All were parallel studies; Two
studies reported an mean of three embryos transferred ( Ganesh et al. ,
2011 ; Salehpour
et al. , 2013 ), and one study
reported an mean of two embryos transferred ( Rashidi et al. , 2016 ).
Participants: 4,061 women submitted to ART in nine studies were included; 1,905
were allocated to groups prescribed dydrogesterone for luteal phase
supplementation, and 2,156 were allocated to groups on vaginal progesterone
capsules. The eligibility criteria, and therefore the characteristics of the
included participants, were different across studies and are reported on Table 1 .
Interventions: The nine studies assessed the use of daily oral dydrogesterone in
doses ranging from 20mg to 40mg versus vaginal progesterone capsules in doses
ranging from 600 mg/day to 800 mg/day.
Outcomes: Two of nine studies reported live births ( Rashidi et al ., 2016 ; Tournaye et al ., 2017 );
3/9 reported ongoing pregnancies ( Chakravarty
et al ., 2005a ; Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ; Zarei et al ., 2017 ); 8/9 reported clinical
pregnancies ( Ganesh et al .,
2011 ; Patki & Pawar, 2007 ;
Rashidi et al .,
2016 ; Saharkhiz et al .,
2016 ; Salehpour et
al ., 2013 ; Tournaye
et al ., 2017 ; Zarei et al ., 2017 ; Zargar et al ., 2016 ); 7/9 reported miscarriages
( Chakravarty et al .,
2005a ; Ganesh et
al ., 2011 ; Rashidi
et al ., 2016 ; Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ; Salehpour et al ., 2013 ; Zarei et al ., 2017 ; Zargar et al ., 2016 ); 2/9
reported female patient dissatisfaction ( Chakravarty et al ., 2005a ; Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ); and 3/9 reported
side effects ( Saharkhiz et al .,
2016 ; Salehpour et
al ., 2013 ; Tournaye
et al ., 2017 ). In one study, the number of
clinical pregnancies was assumed to be equal to the summation of ongoing
pregnancies and miscarriages ( Chakravarty
et al ., 2005a ). In three studies, the number of
ongoing pregnancies was assumed to be equal to the number of clinical
pregnancies minus miscarriages ( Ganesh
et al ., 2011 ; Salehpour et al ., 2013 ; Zargar et al ., 2016 ).
Six studies described adequate methods of randomization ( Ganesh et al ., 2011 ; Rashidi et al ., 2016 ; Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ;
Salehpour et al .,
2013 ; Tournaye et
al ., 2017 ; Zarei et
al ., 2017 ; Zargar
et al ., 2016 ) and two studies did not report the
method used ( Chakravarty et al .,
2005a ; Patki & Pawar,
2007 ). Six studies described allocation concealment through sealed
envelopes ( Ganesh et al .,
2011 ; Rashidi et
al ., 2016 ; Saharkhiz
et al ., 2016 ; Salehpour et al ., 2013 ; Tournaye et al ., 2017 ; Zargar et al ., 2016 ). One
study blinded participants and care providers ( Tournaye et al ., 2017 ). In six studies outcome
assessors were blinded to allocation ( Ganesh
et al ., 2011 ; Rashidi et al ., 2016 ; Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ; Salehpour et al ., 2013 ;
Tournaye et al .,
2017 ; Zargar et al .,
2016 ) and the remaining three studies did not report whether outcome
assessors were blinded.
Saharkhiz et al ., 2016
was judged to be at high risk of attrition bias, since 24/234 (10.3%)
participants were excluded after randomization; loss to follow up was unbalanced
between groups, with 21/117 (17.9%) participants in the dydrogesterone group and
3/117 (2.6%) in the progesterone group. The other eight studies were judged to
be at a low risk of attrition bias. Five studies analyzed all randomized women
( Chakravarty et al .,
2005a ; Ganesh et
al ., 2011 ; Patki &
Pawar, 2007 ; Salehpour et
al ., 2013 ; Zargar
et al ., 2016 ). Rashidi et al . (2016 ) excluded one of 120
participants from the analysis because she failed to come to embryo transfer due
to a car accident; this study was deemed to present low risk of attrition bias
since the withdrawal rate was low. Tournaye
et al . (2017) excluded 57/1031 (5.5%)
participants after randomization; loss to follow-up was balanced between groups
- 23/520 (4.4%) in the dydrogesterone group and 34/511 (6.6%) in the
progesterone group - and the study was considered to present low risk of
attrition bias. For the same reasons the study by Zarei et al ., (2017) was assigned low risk
of attrition bias: 22/222 (10%) participants were excluded after randomization,
but loss to follow-up was balanced between groups, with 10/110 in the
dydrogesterone group and 12/112 in the progesterone group.
The study by Zargar et al .
(2016 ) was judged to present high risk of selective reporting bias,
as three outcomes described in the registered protocol were not reported (live
birth, preterm delivery, and perineal irritation caused by vaginal
progesterone). Four studies reported all outcomes described in the registered
protocol ( Rashidi et al .,
2016 ; Saharkhiz et
al ., 2016 ; Salehpour
et al ., 2013 ; Tournaye et al ., 2017 ) and the remaining four were
not assessed as presenting selective reporting bias.
One study was deemed at high risk of bias for containing a larger proportion of
women aged 40+ years in the dydrogesterone group ( Chakravarty et al ., 2005a ). There was no suspicion
of other sources of bias in the other eight studies.
Forest plots were used to show the results of each individual study and their
respective possible biases ( Figures 2 - 4 )
Figure 2 Forest plot for live birth/ongoing pregnancy. Risk of bias legend: A
= Selection bias (random sequence generation); B = Selection bias
(allocation concealment); C = Performance bias; D = Detection bias;
E = Attrition bias; F = Reporting bias; G = Other biases.
Forest plot for live birth/ongoing pregnancy. Risk of bias legend: A
= Selection bias (random sequence generation); B = Selection bias
(allocation concealment); C = Performance bias; D = Detection bias;
E = Attrition bias; F = Reporting bias; G = Other biases.
Figure 4 Forest plot for miscarriage. Risk of bias legend: A = Selection bias
(random sequence generation); B = Selection bias (allocation
concealment); C = Performance bias; D = Detection bias; E =
Attrition bias; F = Reporting bias; G = Other biases.
Forest plot for miscarriage. Risk of bias legend: A = Selection bias
(random sequence generation); B = Selection bias (allocation
concealment); C = Performance bias; D = Detection bias; E =
Attrition bias; F = Reporting bias; G = Other biases.
Live birth / Ongoing pregnancy ( Table
2 )
Summary of findings.
All outcomes, except miscarriage, were analyzed per randomized
women.
CI = confidence interval; RR = relative risk;
a = The absolute risk in the Vaginal Progesterone group
was determined as the mean risk in these groups; the absolute risk
in the Oral Dydrogesterone group and its 95% CI was determined using
the RR and its 95% CI;
1 . Downgraded one level because of imprecision.
Overall, there was no evidence of relevant differences between oral
dydrogesterone and vaginal progesterone on live birth/ongoing pregnancy rates:
RR 1.08; 95% CI 0.92 to 1.26; I 2 =29%, 8 RCTs, 3,386 women; high
quality evidence. In other words, considering a live birth/ongoing pregnancy
rate of 24% in women using vaginal progesterone, this rate would be in the range
of 22-30% in women using oral dydrogesterone. Sensitivity analysis excluding the
three studies at high risk of bias did not change the estimate: RR 1.10; 95% CI
0.86 to 1.40; I 2 =48%, 5 RCTs, 2,334 women.
Clinical pregnancy ( Figure 3 )
Figure 3 Forest plot for clinical pregnancy. Risk of bias legend: A = f4
Selection bias (random sequence generation); B = Selection bias
(allocation concealment); C = Performance bias; D = Detection bias;
E = Attrition bias; F = Reporting bias; G = Other biases.
Forest plot for clinical pregnancy. Risk of bias legend: A = f4
Selection bias (random sequence generation); B = Selection bias
(allocation concealment); C = Performance bias; D = Detection bias;
E = Attrition bias; F = Reporting bias; G = Other biases.
Overall, there was no evidence indicating that clinical pregnancy was affected by
the use of oral dydrogesterone versus vaginal progesterone capsules: RR 1.10,
95% CI 0.95 to 1.27; I 2 =43%; 9 RCTs; 4,061 women; high quality
evidence. If 28% of the women using vaginal progesterone became pregnant, 27-36%
of the women using oral dydrogesterone might also be clinically pregnant.
Sensitivity analysis excluding the three studies at high risk of bias did not
change the estimate: RR 1.08; 95% CI 0.86 to 1.36; I 2 = 51%, 5 RCTs,
2,334 women.
Miscarriage ( Figure 4 )
Overall, there was no evidence indicating that miscarriage was affected by the
use of oral dydrogesterone versus vaginal progesterone: RR=0.92,
95%CI=0.68-1.26, I 2 =6%, 8 RCTs, 988 clinical pregnancies; moderate
quality evidence.
Two studies reported patient dissatisfaction with treatment ( Chakravarty et al ., 2005a ;
Saharkhiz et al .,
2016 ) (26,30). Since the two studies were significantly heterogeneous
(I 2 = 91%), their results were not pooled together. Saharkhiz et al . (2016)
reported no difference in dissatisfaction between groups: 8% in women using
dydrogesterone vs. 7% in women using vaginal progesterone
capsules; RR 1.19, 95% CI 0.46 to 3.04; 210 women. This study was deemed to be
at high risk of bias. Chakravarty et
al . (2005a) described a great benefit of dydrogesterone
in reducing patient dissatisfaction: 3% in women using dydrogesterone
vs. 26% in women using vaginal progesterone capsules; RR
0.10, 95% CI 0.02 to 0.39; 430 women.
Substantial heterogeneity (>50%) was found for all side effects reported by
the three studies and therefore the results were not pooled together. While two
studies did not describe differences in reported side effects between the two
groups ( Saharkhiz et al .,
2016 ; Tournaye et
al ., 2017 ), one study showed that dydrogesterone was
associated with more cases of vaginal bleeding (RR 2.38; 95% CI 1.18 to 4.78),
nausea (RR 21.00; 95% CI 1.27 to 346.66), and abdominal pain (RR 13.00; 95% CI
0.76 to 223.33) when compared to vaginal progesterone capsules.
Although suboptimal, since fewer than 10 studies were included, the funnel-plot
analysis for the only outcome reported in the nine studies - clinical pregnancy
- was not suggestive of publication bias ( Figure
5 ).
Figure 5 Funnel plot analysis for clinical pregnancy.
Funnel plot analysis for clinical pregnancy.
Sensitivity analysis was reported along with the synthesis of the results.
Discussion
Nine studies were included in the comparison between oral dydrogesterone and
vaginal progesterone capsules. Oral dydrogesterone was generally as effective as
vaginal progesterone capsules for luteal phase support in women undergoing
embryo transfers after IVF/ICSI. The assessment of patient dissatisfaction with
treatment revealed an important inconsistency between the two studies reporting
this outcome: one reported a significant difference favoring dydrogesterone
( Chakravarty et al .,
2005a ) while the other found no differences between the regimens
( Saharkhiz et al .,
2016 ). Possible explanations for this discrepancy are the different
doses of dydrogesterone and the potential differences in the characteristics of
the two patient populations.
Our findings were in agreement with the latest Cochrane review on the subject,
which suggested a significant effect in favor of synthetic progesterone versus
natural progesterone ( van der Linden et
al ., 2015 ). Four studies were included in the
comparison, three of which also included in our review ( Chakravarty et al ., 2005 a; Ganesh et al ., 2011 ; Patki & Pawar, 2007 ). The other study
was not included in our review because it compared oral chlormadinone acetate to
intramuscular progesterone ( Iwase et
al ., 2008 ). Another recent review showed that
dydrogesterone provides similar reproductive results when compared to vaginal
progesterone ( Barbosa et al .,
2016 ). Seven studies were included in this review ( Chakravarty et al .,
2005a ; b; et
al . , 2006 ; Ganesh et al ., 2011 ; Patki & Pawar, 2007 ; Saharkhiz et al. , 2016 ;
Salehpour et al .,
2013 ), five of which were also included in our review ( Chakravarty et al ., 2005a ;
Ganesh et al ., 2011 ;
Patki & Pawar, 2007 ; Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ;
Salehpour et al .,
2013 ). Two of the studies were not included in our review because
they were published as abstracts, thus yielding a high risk of bias to the
comparison ( Chakravarty et al .,
2005 b ; 2006 ). Four other
studies were included in our review ( Rashidi
et al ., 2016 ; Tournaye et al ., 2017 ; Zarei et al ., 2017 ; Zargar et al ., 2016 ). One of these studies
was sponsored by a pharmaceutical company ( Tournaye et al ., 2017 ), but its results were
similar to the one described in other trials. The only difference between the
study by Tournaye et al .
(2017) and the others included was the double-blinding procedure,
which in fact minimizes the risk of bias ( Lexchin et al ., 2003 ). With the addition of more
studies in our review, and by excluding the abstracts, the authors believe that
this review provides a robust body of evidence for the comparison between
dydrogesterone and vaginal progesterone capsules for LPS in women undergoing
embryo transfers.
In terms of dissatisfaction with treatment, our review included the same studies
as the cited review ( Barbosa et
al ., 2016 ). The discrepancy between the two studies in
regards to this outcomes makes it difficult to draw firm conclusions. Different
side effects were reported in three studies ( Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ; Salehpour et al ., 2013 ; Tournaye et al ., 2017 ),
and two of them did not report differences between the two groups ( Saharkhiz et al ., 2016 ;
Tournaye et al .,
2017 ). Additionally, a systematic review on the use of dydrogesterone
for recurrent miscarriage found 13 studies reporting apparently minimal adverse
effects ( Carp, 2015 ).
The evidence available suffers from the limitations inherent to the included
studies: five of the nine studies had high risk of bias in at least one domain;
and the use of different doses in case and control groups along with different
durations of LPS may have introduced some heterogeneity in the analysis. This
issue was addressed with a random-effects model and by the incorporation of
observed heterogeneity in the interpretation of the findings and in the
assessment of the quality of the evidence.
The quality of the evidence was considered to be high for live birth/ongoing
pregnancy and clinical pregnancy. It was downgraded one level for miscarriage
because of imprecision: there was a relatively low number of events and a broad
confidence interval.
Materials|Methods
The protocol of this review was registered at PROSPERO(CRD42017071571).
True randomized controlled trials (RCTs) comparing oral dydrogesterone to vaginal
progesterone capsules for LPS in women undergoing ART (fresh or frozen embryo
transfer following IVF/ICSI) were included. Quasi and pseudo-randomized trials
were not included.
The following electronic databases were searched for RCTs: PubMed, Scopus, and
Embase. The references of the included studies and related reviews were also
hand-searched.
The following terms were used, adjusting for each database as necessary: (IVF OR
ICSI OR embryo OR blastocyst OR oocyte OR egg OR retrieval OR luteal) AND
(dydrogesterone OR duphaston OR isopregnenone OR dehydrogesterone). There was no
limitation regarding language, publication date or publication status.
Two authors (MWPB and CON) independently screened publications for titles and
abstracts based on the pre-established inclusion criteria and checked for
duplicates. The same authors examined the full text articles of the studies
selected for inclusion in the review; a third author (WPM) was involved to solve
disagreements as needed. The authors corresponded with original study authors to
clarify study eligibility when required.
A data extraction form designed and pilot-tested by the authors was used to
extract data from the included trials. In the event of studies with multiple
publications, the main trial report was used as reference and additional details
were supplemented from secondary reports. The authors corresponded with trial
authors to get clarification when required. Data were extracted independently in
a standardized manner by two authors (MWPB and CON); a third author (WPM) was
involved to solve disagreements as needed.
The following data were collected to characterize the included trials: authors;
country; institution; funding sources; conflicts of interest; informed consent;
approval by ethics committees; study design; period of enrollment; eligibility
criteria; number of participants in each group at each stage; age and BMI
(mean±SD) of participants; COS protocol and trigger; number of embryos
transferred per woman; and implantation rate.
The primary outcomes for effectiveness were live birth and/or ongoing pregnancy
rates, while the primary outcome for adverse effect was dissatisfaction. Ongoing
pregnancy was used a surrogate indicator of live birth in trials not reporting
the latter. Ongoing pregnancy was defined as evidence of fetal cardiac activity
on ultrasound examination after 10-12 weeks of gestation ( Daya, 2003 ). Ongoing pregnancy was calculated as the number
of clinical pregnancies minus the number of miscarriages in the trials in which
it was not described. Secondary outcomes were clinical pregnancy; miscarriage
per clinical pregnancy (single fetal demise in twin or triplet pregnancies was
not counted as miscarriage); and any reported side effects.
Additional unreported data were collected from the authors of the studies. Where
data could not be obtained, clinical pregnancy (and subsequent miscarriage or
live birth) was assumed not to have occurred in women with cycle cancellation.
No assumption was made for women lost to follow up for other reasons.
Two authors (MWPB and CON) independently assessed the risk of selection bias
(random sequence generation and allocation concealment); performance bias
(blinding of participants and personnel); detection bias (blinding of outcome
assessors); attrition bias (incomplete outcome data); reporting bias (selective
outcome reporting), and other potential sources of bias (e.g.: difference in the
number of embryos transferred, age of participants, co-interventions, early
stopping). A third author (WPM) was involved to solve disagreements as needed.
The Cochrane Collaboration criteria for judging risk of bias was used in this
review ( Higgins & Green, 2011 ): the
trials were assigned 'low', 'high' or 'unclear' risk of bias. Blinding was not
considered as a factor likely to affect the risk of performance and detection
bias on reproductive outcomes, but it might be detrimental to the evaluation of
participant satisfaction with treatment, since the main adverse effects related
to the route of drug administration.
Dichotomous variables were expressed as risk ratios (RR) and the precision of the
estimates was evaluated by the 95% confidence interval (CI). The clinical
relevance of all comparisons was assessed based on the precision of the
estimates. A random effects model was used to address the differences in true
effect size across studies, since doses were different. The random effects model
also incorporated the heterogeneity observed among studies and thus produced
more conservative confidence intervals ( Higgins
& Green, 2011 ).
Review Manager 5.3.5 (Copenhagen: The Nordic Cochrane Centre, The Cochrane
Collaboration, 2014) was used to combine the results comprised in the
meta-analysis. The I 2 index was used to assess heterogeneity.
Increases in the risk of positive (e.g.: live birth) or negative (e.g.:
miscarriage) outcomes in the meta-analysis were plotted to the right of the
centerline, while decreases in the risk such outcomes were plotted to the left
of the centerline. Since one multi-arm study was included, we were careful not
to double count controls.
In view of the difficulty detecting and correcting for publication bias and other
reporting biases, the authors aimed to minimize the potential impact by
performing a comprehensive search for eligible studies and by preventing the
duplication of data. Additionally, a funnel plot was used to assess the presence
of small-study effects suggestive of publication bias.
Sensitivity analysis was performed for primary outcomes to verify whether the
conclusions would have been different if eligibility was restricted to studies
at low risk of bias.
A table was generated to summarize the review findings. The quality of the
evidence for the main outcomes was evaluated following the Grading of
Recommendations Assessment, Development and Evaluation (GRADE) Working Group
recommendation ( Guyatt et al .,
2011 ): the limitations of included studies, inconsistency of effect,
imprecision, indirectness, and risk of publication bias were considered.
The quality of the evidence was graded in the following levels ( Balshem et al ., 2011 ): High
quality = We are very confident that the true effect lies close to the effect
observed in this review; Moderate quality = We are moderately confident in the
effect estimate: the true effect is likely to be close to the effect observed in
this review, but it might be substantially different; Low quality = Our
confidence in the effect estimate is limited: the true effect may be
substantially different from the effect observed in this review; Very low
quality = We have very little confidence in the effect estimate: the true effect
is likely to be substantially different from the effect observed in this
review.